Listingcorp.com?

Posted by tom | Aug 12, 2005

Apparently I'm not the only one to receive a mailing from Listingcorp.com, beware . . .

I received a letter the other day from Listingcorp.com. It says that one of my domains has received some search engine listings service and I owe $35. Now, I knew that something couldn’t be right, however this looks exactly like a bill. It tells me the amounts, what they are for, my customer number, notice date and who to make out the check too. However it does say that it is not a bill if you read everything. They just made it to look like a bill to confuse the general public. Not only that, but the domain name on the bill is not for one of my sites, however it’s really close. They put .info instead of .com. At first I didn’t notice that, however they are expecting that you overlook that minor detail. I’m guessing that that is the only site I don’t have privacy protected.

They did a really good job of making this look like a bill and probably will continue to scam money out of people. However, if you get a letter like this please don’t pay them. Con artist shouldn’t be able to get away with it. --

http://www.twistermc.com/blog/2005/03/28/listingcorp-scam

Also see http://www.craigslist.com/sfc/com/87088348.html

2 Comments & 0 Trackbacks of "Listingcorp.com?"

    Make them pay. Use one of the following

    http://www.box.net/public/itlftpbc25
    http://rapidshare.de/files/25407709/ladvampire_spammers_listingcorp.html.html
    http://www.rapidshare.se?1421365
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=KS5FN7Y0
    http://www.bigupload.com/d=498A96F2
    http://d01.megashares.com/?d01=6a2cc32

    to drain their bandwidth and make their cost of business increase. You only need one copy of the scripts; I’ve uploaded it to multiple mirrors to help avoid 404s.
    note: you might get a security prompt under IE; allow it run the script. Also, there is a counter which keeps a running total of MBs downloaded which does not work under Firefox but works in IE (go figure).

    Posted by NotA Fan OfListingCorp, Jul 9 2006, 20:02

    I scanned a copy of the fake "bill" that they sent me. You can view a copy here:
    http://philtered.com/index.php?id=58

    Posted by CD, Feb 9 2007, 00:54
Add comment