Apparently I'm not the only one to receive a mailing from Listingcorp.com, beware . . .
I received a letter the other day from Listingcorp.com. It says that one of my domains has received some search engine listings service and I owe $35. Now, I knew that something couldn’t be right, however this looks exactly like a bill. It tells me the amounts, what they are for, my customer number, notice date and who to make out the check too. However it does say that it is not a bill if you read everything. They just made it to look like a bill to confuse the general public. Not only that, but the domain name on the bill is not for one of my sites, however it’s really close. They put .info instead of .com. At first I didn’t notice that, however they are expecting that you overlook that minor detail. I’m guessing that that is the only site I don’t have privacy protected.
They did a really good job of making this look like a bill and probably will continue to scam money out of people. However, if you get a letter like this please don’t pay them. Con artist shouldn’t be able to get away with it. --
http://www.twistermc.com/blog/2005/03/28/listingcorp-scam
(More)